MACS Athletic Hall of Fame class inducted

More than a half dozen honorees and a historic Tiger team were inducted during the Athletic Hall of Fame Ceremony on Friday, Oct. 8.

The inductees were first introduced prior the Mexico Tigers varsity football game on the same day before the district unveiled plaques for each honoree on their Wall of Fame. Then, a ceremony and reception was held for families and friends in the high school's gym.

This year’s athlete inductees included Everet Backus (’49), Mark Backus (’72), Joseph Tagliareni (’72), Evan Oustrich (’09) and Shawn Parkhurst (’09). Also inducted will be Sue Teifke (’81) as a special contributor, William Kays as a coach who led the varsity wrestling program for 27 years and the Tigers 2008-09 varsity boys swim team.

The swim team was coached by John O’Brien, previously inducted into the Athletic Hall of Fame, and Sally Oliver who still coaches the boys and girls divers today. Team members included Ian Dineen, Rich Delong, Zach Earl, Dan Fischer, Andy Grant, Andrew Halsey, Chris Halsey, Tom Hartnett, Mike Hartwell, Dan Jardin, Logan Killian, Josh Lucas, Shawn Parkhurst, Nick Rodriguez, Josh Russo, Jon Silva, Brian Smith, Colton Taylor, Mike Vogelsang, Brandon Warren, Cody Warren and Kevin Wozniak.

MACS Athletic Hall of Fame honorees at the Oct. 8 Mexico Tigers varsity football game