Athletes, inductees honored at Block M Awards

The annual Block M Athletic Awards celebrated athletes and teams for hard work on and off the field this season.

The reception, held June 5 in Mexico High School’s gym, saw a trio of Mexico alumni inducted into the Athletic Hall of Fame and several scholarships awarded.

Senior Brionna Emery and junior William Ruby were honored as the Laurence “Sparky” Rector Athletes of the Year, the final award given out at the end of the night.

The three inductees into this year’s Athletic Hall of Fame class were Russell Daniels (’02),William Dumas (’56) and Blaine Wills (’90). Prior to the ceremony, plaques were unveiled in the hallway outside the gym and all three were recognized on stage at the reception.

After special awards and scholarships were given out, coaches took the stage to speak about their team’s triumphs this season and name a Most Valuable Player.

Listed below are the winners of special awards and team MVPs for the 2018-19 school year.

Special Awards

Fan of the Year: Forrest Meeks.

Laurence 'Sparky' Rector Athlete of the Year: William Ruby and Brionna Emery.

Section III Cheerleading Scholarship: Sheila Wallis.

Linda Beyer-Shoults/Dollars for Scholars Memorial Award: Jolie Pelow.

Edward E. Albright Memorial Award: Dylan Long and Rachel Rose.

Brian Ariola Award: Rachel Rose.

Charles Giovo II Award: Destiny Teachout and Logan Craig.

Wally Sutliff Memorial Most Improved Award: Jolie Pelow and Jared Perkins.

Charles Giovo Sr. Sportsmanship Award: Aliza Deasy and Connor Spurling.

Team MVPs

Baseball: Thomas Gessner.

Softball: Kendall Cuyler and Brianna Urquhart.

Boys Basketball: Connor Spurling and Buddy Ruby.

Girls Basketball: Brynn Wills.

Boys Diving: Kian Long.

Boys Swimming: Dylan Long.

Girls Swimming: Alexa von Holtz.

Fall Cheerleading: Sheila Wallis and Molly Blasier.

Winter Cheerleading: Kierra Webster.

Boys Cross Country: Evan Ladd.

Girls Cross Country: Shannon Michaelis.

Football: Marcus Turo and Isiah Turo.

Girls Indoor Track: Anna Bigelow (track) and Reatha von Holtz (field).

Boys Indoor Track: Daniel Gowans (track) and Morgan Derby (field).

Girls Lacrosse: Brionna Emery.

Girls Outdoor Track: Adria Ariola and Carolyn Zedack (track); Reatha von Holtz (field).

Boys Outdoor Track: Daniel Gowans (track) and Morgan Derby (field).

Boys Soccer: Connor Spurling.

Girls Soccer: Brionna Emery.

Boys Tennis: Joe Ocker and Neil Deloch.

Girls Tennis: Kimberly Heagerty.

Boys Golf: Connor Revette.

Girls Volleyball: Aliza Deasy.

Weight Training: Jonathan Rasbeck and Tim Dullen.

Wrestling: Dean Shambo.

Hockey: Ryan Mosher.

Laurence 'Sparky' Rector award winners

Senior Brionna Emery and junior William Ruby were named the Laurence "Sparky" Rector Athletes of the Year at the MACS Block M ceremony.

Pictured are the inductees to the MACS Athletic Hall of Fame

The three inductees into this year’s Athletic Hall of Fame class, pictured from left, were William Dumas (’56), Russell Daniels (’02) and Blaine Wills (’90).